Before The Big Bang

General discussions
jonnyfar89

Before The Big Bang

Post by jonnyfar89 » Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:18 am

I am new to this forum and relatively new to Atheism in general. I've always had major doubts about organised religion and the concepts that come with it. I've recently been reading God is not Great by Christopher Hitchens and I found it very insightful.
We all know (or at least most of us) that the Big Bang is a real thing and the evidence for it is solid. However, have you any ideas or thoughts on what was there (or not there) beforehand?

I find it difficult to think of any reasonable explanation and I'm not entirely sure there is one definite answer, at least not at this stage of our evolution. I also find it funny how creationists are beginning to claim ownership of evolution, now that it's an accepted and factual thing. What was outside of the condensed mass that exploded into existence?

Obviously, this is a hard question to answer and I am no scientist or theorist with any knowledge of physics or cosmology.
But, I am interested to hear/read any theories that you might have, if any at all.
canasta42

Re: Before The Big Bang

Post by canasta42 » Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:55 pm

My limited understanding of the big bang, is that the space was created then also. It is not the case that there was a huge space and then all the matter exploded into it: the space expanded as well. It is difficult enough to get our heads around the real history of the universe, never mind what was there before. Perhaps there was nothing there 'before'. (Time also began at the big bang.) But then, what is 'nothing'? So you see how strange the problem is?

I'm not much help I'm afraid, but I think the best way to get some conceptual grasp of the currently fashionable models it to read a lot of physics. The reality, as explored using the scientific method, is so amazing, it puts all religions in the shade.