R.E teacher shows photos of aborted foetuses to class

Issues relating to promoting a secular state education and raising children in a non-religious home
picapica

R.E teacher shows photos of aborted foetuses to class

Post by picapica » Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:02 am

I studied R.E at scool- and it was a secular curriculum, whish I thoroughly enjoyed as the syllabus covered Christianity ( and it's main branches),Islam,Judaism, Buddhism,Hinduism, Sikhism and I did a project on Rastafarianism. I grew up in London during the racial tensions of the 1970's. A secular R.E syllabus informed my generation about the world and I truly believe had a strong, positive and far reaching impact on building tolerance in my hometown.
I moved to Ireland with my children 5 years ago, and enrolled my eldest in the local secondary school. I was naive- I should have opted my daughter out of the compulsory study of R.E for junior cert. I had no idea that in order to pass this compulsory exam my atheist child would have to answer as if she was a Catholic. She is articulate and intelligent and we would sit together and regulary discuss the outrageous text book and the even more outrageous opinions of her R.E teacher at home. There were a few occasions in class where my dughter tried to 'stand up for her beliefs': when asked to write an essay entitled 'how to keep hold of your faith when in the presence of an Atheist' she aked the teacher how she should approach this essay as she did not believe in a God. Her teacher sarcastically replied ' why don't you write me an essay on how a 13 year old can come up with an idea like that??'